Posts Update:
Pin It

Casillas wins Goalkeeper of the Year award

January 05, 2013

Real Madrid's Iker Casillas has been awarded Goalkeeper of the Year by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS).

The Blancos captain hit the headlines at the tail-end of 2012 after Jose Mourinho opted to drop him for reserve shot-stopper Antonio Adan in the club’s 3-2 defeat by Malaga at La Rosaleda. 

However, Casillas was able to beat away competition for the award from the likes of Chelsea’s Petr Cech, Barcelona’s Victor Valdes, Juventus’ Gianluigi Buffon, Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer and Manchester City’s Joe Hart. 

The Spain international received 224 votes to win - 96 more than second-placed Buffon - and it is the fifth time that he has taken home the IFFHS award in his career. 

Casillas had a stellar 2012, with the two highlights being the dismantling of Barcelona as La Liga champions and winning the Euros with la Roja.


Source: Goal


Post a Comment

Have your say and leave a comment here! Thank you!


© Copyright Football365News 2012 | Originally designed by Herdiansyah Hamzah | Customized by Football365News | Powered by